More than 220 faculty and trainees participated in this year’s annual ‘University of Toronto Microbiology and Infectious Disease Research Days’, which were held on June 15-16, 2015. This is the only event each year that brings together infectious disease-focused clinicians, clinical scientists and basic researchers from across campus and all University-affiliated teaching hospitals, with the intent of highlighting research progress and sharing ideas. 75 abstracts were submitted by our trainees, from which 12 were selected for oral presentations during Monday’s “Trainee Day”. On Tuesday, a morning of seminars from our invited speakers was followed by lunch and a vibrant poster session. This year’s event was hosted by Professors Scott Gray-Owen (Department of Molecular Genetics) and Rupert Kaul (Department of Medicine), with our Trainee Day being organized by Mogen graduate students Anna Sintsova and Epshita Islam. Congratulations to our all award winners!!!


First Prize ($450):  Robyn Elphinstone (Department of Medicine):  Deletion of S-nitrosoglutathione reductase (GSNOR) improves outcomes in an experimental model of cerebral malaria.

Second Prize ($350):  Carolyn Buckwalter (Department of Molecular Genetics):  Insights into Neisseria meningitidis infection and immunity from the CEACAM-humanized mouse model.

Third Prize ($250):  Amanda Veri (Department of Molecular Genetics):  Global analysis of fungal morphology reveals mechanisms of host cell escape. 


First Prize ($200):  Vanessa Tran (Department of Medicine):  Altered angiogenesis and adverse birth outcomes in experimental placental malaria.

Second Prize ($150):  Casandra Mangroo (Department of Molecular Genetics):  Human enteric adenovirus type 41 changes receptor usage after exposure to gastric conditions.

Third Prize ($100):  Cynthia Guo (Department of Molecular Genetics):  Contribution of Heptose-1,7-bisphosphate to gonococcal infection and disease.