The 2017 Department of Molecular Genetics Annual Retreat and Power Hour, was held September 20-22rd at YMCA Geneva Park Conference Centre on Lake Couchiching in Orillia.

The Retreat began with a Power Hour where faculty members presented their lab's research to our new rotation students in 3 minutes with one prepared slide. The remainder of the Retreat involve faculty talks and a poster session presented by faculty, students, post-docs and staff. Entertainment on Thursday evening was organized by our graduate students.

Congratulations to our Poster Prize Winners:

Duah, Kwamaa (Cowen lab), Chloe Rose (Ciruna lab), Liu, Shixuan (Kafri lab), Ashrut Narula (Rissland), Michael Pryszlak (B. Pearson lab), Daniel Witvliet (Zhen Lab) and Eesha Sharma, (Blencowe lab)

Congratulations to the Departmental Award Winners:

Harley O'Connor Mount (Ensminger Lab) - L.W. Macpherson Award

Kaitlin Laverty (Hughes/Morris Labs) - Roman Pakula Award

Dustin Ammendolia (Brummell Lab) - Norman Bethune Award

Elissa Currie (Gray-Owen Lab) - Eric Hani Fellowship

Photographs: Dr. Mikko Taipale